Skip to content

TEN PICTURE BOOKS

August 11, 2010

A challenge came through from

http://www.jogtheweb.com/run/6k4j9kfqLUM1/August-10-for-10-Picture-Books.

Here’s my list that jumped out from the bookshelf this morning.

‘Mirror’ by Jeannie Baker.  I only just discovered this treasure created by the Australian author and brilliant collage artist.  The format enables a comparison of daily life in Morocco and in Australia.  Great for classroom multicultural studies, and economics – where does stuff come from?

‘Going West’ by Martin Waddell and Philippe Dupasqier.  Few words, rich illustrations tell the story of a pioneering family heading west across America.  My boys loved it when young.

‘Drummer Hoff’ by Barbara and Ed Emberley.  Noisy book, stylish illustrations.

‘A Bag Full of Pups’ by Dick Gachenbach.  A favourite of my boys.  Good book on which to base a text innovation, to follow the pattern of language used, in the Early Years writing class.

‘Dr Xargle’s Book of Earthlets’ by Jeanne Willis.  Aliens find out all about how humans care for their babies.

‘Noisy Nora’ by Rosemary Wells.  I am just like Nora!

‘Make Way for Ducklings’ by Robert McCluskey.  The Boston architecture, the names of the ducklings, the policemen’s hats – all fascinated my boys.

‘Sunshine’ by Jan Ormerod.  A wordless picture book that reminds me of how busy families are before we get to work in the morning.  Useful for teaching time concepts and events-in-order in the early Childhood classroom.

‘The Three Robbers’ by Tomi Ungerer.  I wish I could be just like Tiffany.

‘All Fall Down’ by Brian Wildsmith.  Such a simple book, one of the first I read to my own babies.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2010 5:01 pm

    Thanks for sharing your list. I will have to take a look at the one about aliens.

  2. August 18, 2010 12:22 pm

    I loved your ideas here! I will be able to purchase more excellent picture books for my library based on this and the lists of others in the August 10 for 10.

    I am a new follower!

    Let’s share ideas.
    I’d love to have you visit my blog at http://www.readerbuzz.blogspot.com.

Leave a Reply

